Morocco Family Holiday: Marrakech or Agadir, Age by Age
February half term 2027 for a family of four, priced in pounds and dirhams.

Quick answer: Marrakech or Agadir with kids
- Agadir wins February half term for under-10s: Marrakech's Oasiria water park is shut, and all inclusive with flights costs up to £2,479 for four before local tax (as of October 2026, source: RIU).
- Marrakech with breakfast costs up to £2,983 for the same week (Accor and British Airways, October 2026).
- In February, Agadir averages 22.0°C by day with 4 rain days (World Meteorological Organization, October 2026). Marrakech averages 20.7°C, with 6 rain days.
- UK, Irish, US, Canadian, Australian, New Zealand, Singaporean and GCC passports need no visa (Morocco's eVisa portal and the FCDO, October 2026).
- Skip Morocco this half term if four hours is too long: Agadir is 3 hours 55 minutes from Manchester (Manchester Airport, October 2026). Our February half term guide has closer options.
- Below: what a 6-year-old and a 10-year-old can do, the Majorelle proof of age rule, the Atlas day with no child rate, then costs and the Budget Calculator.
Is Morocco a good family destination?
Yes: UK passports need no visa for up to 90 days, and the week works if the city fits your children's ages (as of October 2026, source: FCDO). Read the FCDO's terrorism warning before you book.
A 6-year-old's week runs on the pool, the beach and a kids club, which Agadir's resorts are built around. If both children are 10 or older, plan for the souks and an Atlas day in Marrakech instead.
Marrakech or Agadir, Morocco: which suits your children's ages
Agadir suits under-10s in February: Riu Tikida Dunas runs RIU Land from age 4, and Oasiria's slides are shut (as of October 2026, sources: RIU, Oasiria). Marrakech suits 10-year-olds and up. The table compares the two cities on the seven lines that matter most.
| February half term | Marrakech | Agadir |
|---|---|---|
| Flight from Manchester (Manchester Airport) | 4 hours | 3 hours 55 minutes |
| Airport to hotel | Mövenpick 4 km; Club Med 20 minutes | About 30 km, 30 minutes (ROBINSON's Agadir resort) |
| February day and night | 20.7°C and 7.6°C, 6 rain days | 22.0°C and 10.2°C, 4 rain days |
| Pools and beach | Mövenpick: two pools heated to 28°C in winter, children's pool; no beach | Riu Tikida Dunas: beachfront, children's pool |
| Kids clubs | Club Med 4 to 10, included; Mövenpick club with babysitting | RIU Land: RIU's brand page gives ages 4 to 7 and 8 to 12 |
| Water park | Oasiria: slides shut (2026 season: 4 April to 1 November); one heated pool open | Crocoparc, 70 dirhams a child, is the big day out |
| Pushchairs (strollers) | No owner states pushchair access in the medina, so carry under-3s; Majorelle says its garden is wheelchair accessible | Crocoparc says it is fully accessible to families with pushchairs |
Sources: the owners named in each row, and World Meteorological Organization normals, read October 2026. Oasiria's services page gives an earlier start; we use its dated prices page. Manchester Airport's guide gives 4 hours; Ryanair schedules 3h 40m.
Pick by your youngest child:
- Youngest under 4: Agadir, for the beach and the children's pool.
- Youngest 4 to 9: Agadir.
- Both 10 and over: Marrakech.
We priced resorts, not riads: the one medina riad site we could read (Riad Kniza) shows rates only in its booking widget. Switch to Marrakech once the youngest is 10, when an Atlas day works for both children.
Check your chosen hotel's own rate first, then compare Marrakech hotels on Expedia and Agadir hotels on Expedia and take the cheaper.
When to go: February half term, Easter or October
Go to Agadir at February half term and to Marrakech at October half term or Easter (as of October 2026, source: World Meteorological Organization). Agadir is the warmer city in February, averaging 22.0°C (71.6°F) by day. The table shows the average daytime high in each city by month.
| Mean daily high | February | April | June | July | October | December |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Marrakech | 20.7°C | 25.7°C | 33.6°C | 37.7°C | 28.5°C | 20.2°C |
| Agadir | 22.0°C | 23.2°C | 25.6°C | 26.7°C | 26.1°C | 22.1°C |
Source: World Meteorological Organization, 1991 to 2020 normals, read October 2026.
Whether your week is peak-priced depends on whose school calendar you're on, so the table gives the best base for each.
| School calendar | Holidays, 2027 | Best base |
|---|---|---|
| England (Lambeth, London) | February half term 15 to 19 Feb; Easter 26 Mar to 9 Apr; October half term 25 to 29 Oct | Agadir in February; Marrakech at Easter and in October |
| Ireland | Mid-term 15 to 19 Feb; Easter 22 Mar to 2 Apr | Agadir in February; Marrakech at Easter, if Oasiria isn't the point |
| US (New York City) | Midwinter break (half term) 15 to 19 Feb; spring recess 22 to 30 Apr | Agadir in February; Marrakech in April |
| Canada (Toronto) | March break 15 to 19 Mar | Either; Oasiria shut |
| Australia (NSW), New Zealand | NSW 12 to 23 Apr; NZ 10 to 26 Apr | Marrakech |
| Singapore | 13 to 21 Mar; 29 May to 27 Jun; 21 Nov to 31 Dec 2026 | Either in March (Oasiria shut); Agadir in June and December |
| Gulf (UAE) | Eid al-Fitr 8 to 12 Mar; spring break 5 to 9 Apr; summer from 3 Jul | Marrakech in spring; Agadir in July and August |
Sources: each school system's own calendar, read October 2026. Ireland's dates are post-primary; UAE dates are for ministry-curriculum schools.
At October half term, go to Marrakech, the warmer city that month, and Oasiria's services page keeps the park open to the first Sunday of November. At Easter, 26 March to 9 April, book Marrakech, and check Oasiria's 2027 opening before you promise the slides. Avoid Marrakech in July, when the mean high is 37.7°C; for a summer all-inclusive week, compare Turkey vs Greece. Other UK nations set their own dates: check yours in our February half term abroad guide.
The Ramadan week
February half term 2027 should fall in Ramadan. The FCDO says Ramadan next starts in February 2027, and the UAE Ministry of Education dates Eid al-Fitr 8 to 12 March.
The FCDO advises you to "check opening hours of shops and restaurants", and Crocoparc runs 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. through Ramadan. With a 6-year-old who eats at 6 p.m., the hotel buffet is the easy answer. For a beach week outside Ramadan, compare Tenerife vs Lanzarote or our winter sun destinations from the UK.
Season and Ramadan dates: Oasiria, the FCDO and the UAE Ministry of Education, read October 2026.

Getting there and getting in
From London both cities are under four hours direct, and from New York and Toronto each is one stop (as of October 2026, sources: British Airways, Delta).
Flights from six hubs
The table gives each hub's flight time and an indicative return fare per adult.
| Hub | Airline, flight time | Round trip per adult, 13 to 20 Feb 2027 |
|---|---|---|
| London (LGW) | British Airways direct: Marrakech 3h 45m; Agadir 3h 50m | Marrakech from £312 per passenger; Agadir £284 per adult (Economy Basic) |
| Manchester (MAN) | Ryanair direct: Marrakech 3h 40m; Agadir 3h 50m (Sundays) | Marrakech £295.98; Agadir £303.69 (14 to 21 Feb) |
| Dublin (DUB) | Ryanair direct: Marrakech 3h 35m | Marrakech €289.57; Agadir €316.80 (14 to 21 Feb) |
| New York (JFK) | Air France via Paris, sold by Delta, 12h 35m to Marrakech | $1,141 (Economy Light) |
| Toronto (YYZ) | KLM and Transavia via Amsterdam, sold by Delta, 19h 10m | CA$1,192 |
| Dubai (DXB) | Royal Air Maroc sells Dubai to Marrakech through; or Emirates nonstop to Casablanca, 7h 45m, then a connection | Emirates to Casablanca AED 3,420 |
Sources: British Airways, Ryanair, Delta Air Lines, Emirates and Royal Air Maroc, read October 2026. Ryanair fares are Basic, without hold bags. Royal Air Maroc showed no February fare for Dubai to Marrakech at our October read.
From Dubai, book Royal Air Maroc through to Marrakech once February fares load; from New York or Toronto, book the one-stop fare.
Visas and jabs
The table shows which passports need a visa, and what it costs.
| Passport | Visa for a holiday (vacation) | How, and fee |
|---|---|---|
| UK | None | Nothing to apply for; up to 90 days; passport valid 3 months after arrival |
| Irish, US, Canadian, Australian, New Zealand, Singaporean; UAE, Saudi, Qatari, Kuwaiti, Bahraini, Omani | None | Exempt on Morocco's eVisa check; no fee |
| GCC resident on another passport | Depends on nationality | An Indian or a UAE-resident Pakistani applies online for the eVisa: 770 dirhams standard or 1,100 express; 30-day stay |
Sources: Kingdom of Morocco Ministry of Foreign Affairs eVisa portal (Accès Maroc), FCDO and TravelHealthPro, read October 2026.
For health, the UK's TravelHealthPro lists hepatitis A, tetanus and typhoid for most travellers, and Morocco asks for no yellow fever certificate. None of the seven passports on this page needs a visa, so entry does not decide Marrakech or Agadir.
What a February half-term week costs for four
Flights and a week's stay cost up to £2,479 in Agadir all inclusive and up to £2,983 in Marrakech with breakfast (as of October 2026, sources: RIU, Accor). The Agadir figure is before RIU's local tax. On those figures, Agadir is about £500 cheaper and includes every meal. The two tables price flights and seven nights at three stays in each city.
| Marrakech, 13 to 20 February 2027, family of four | Pounds | Dirhams |
|---|---|---|
| Flights for four British Airways, Gatwick to Marrakech: "Price per passenger from £312" (per adult) x 4 | up to £1,248 | 16,164 |
| Stay: bed and breakfast Mövenpick Marrakech, Superior King, breakfast, one room for 2 adults and 2 children (€2,056.42 as published) | £1,735 | 22,471 |
| Stay: board not stated Sofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial, Imperial Suite for 4, no breakfast shown (€3,888.24 as published) | £3,280 | 42,488 |
| Stay: all inclusive Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie, all inclusive, kids club 4 to 10 included (£4,150 as published) | £4,150 | 53,751 |
| Total, up to: bed and breakfast | £2,983 | 38,635 |
| Total, up to: board not stated | £4,528 | 58,652 |
| Total, up to: all inclusive | £5,398 | 69,915 |
| Agadir, 13 to 20 February 2027, family of four | Pounds | Dirhams |
|---|---|---|
| Flights for four British Airways, Gatwick to Agadir: "Economy Basic £284 Per adult" x 4 | up to £1,136 | 14,713 |
| Stay: all inclusive Riu Tikida Dunas, all inclusive, RIU Land kids programme, local tax extra (US$1,790 as published) | £1,343 | 17,390 |
| Stay: 24-hour all inclusive Riu Palace Tikida Taghazout, 24-hour all inclusive, local tax extra (US$2,657 as published) | £1,993 | 25,814 |
| Stay: bed and breakfast Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay, Privilege suite for 4, breakfast (€3,460.87 as published) | £2,920 | 37,818 |
| Total, up to, before local tax: all inclusive | £2,479 | 32,103 |
| Total, up to, before local tax: 24-hour all inclusive | £3,129 | 40,527 |
| Total, up to: bed and breakfast | £4,056 | 52,531 |
| Total with hold bags, up to: all inclusive | £2,599 | 33,662 |
Sources: British Airways, Accor, Club Med and RIU booking searches, read October 2026. British Airways flights are four times its per-adult fare, as BA showed child fares only after selection. Dirhams at Bank Al-Maghrib reference rates for 16 October 2026: 12.952 per pound, 9.7153 per dollar, 10.9272 per euro. Not included: airport transfers, meals outside the board, hold bags, RIU's local tax, activities.
About US$3,310 or €2,940 for the Agadir all-inclusive week (Bank Al-Maghrib reference rates, 16 October 2026).

British Airways' Economy Basic fare to Agadir carries no hold bag, and Economy Plus adds a 23 kg bag for £30 more per adult. At that supplement on all four seats, the week comes to about £2,600. RIU marks its local tax as not included without stating the amount, and we could not read an official airport taxi fare, so budget for both on top.
Club Med adds every meal and its 4 to 10 club for about £2,400 more than Mövenpick's breakfast rate. Book it only if Marrakech itself is the point.
What to do with a 6-year-old and a 10-year-old
Do Jardin Majorelle and Crocoparc with both children, and save the Atlas, Essaouira and surf days for the 10-year-old. The table shows which day out suits which age, and what it costs.
| Day out | 6-year-old | 10-year-old | Price and catch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jardin Majorelle, Marrakech | Go: free with an adult, on proof of age | Go: DH 95 or DH 170, by the ticket page or the garden page | DH 170 an adult; DH 435 to DH 510 for four; timed tickets online only, from 8 a.m. |
| Crocoparc, Agadir | Go: 70 dirhams | Go: 70 dirhams | 340 dirhams for four (adults 100); 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. in Ramadan |
| Kasbah du Toubkal day, from Marrakech | Skip: a 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. day | Go | €90 a person for four or more (€125 for two or three); €378 for four with the 5% Village Association charge; pick-up and lunch included |
| Essaouira | Skip: 3 hours each way by coach | Go | 100 dirhams an adult one way on Supratours (24 October 2026 fare; February and child fares not on sale) |
| Surfing at Taghazout, near Agadir | Kids club instead: Surf Maroc teaches from 8 | Go if you stay at a surf camp: Surf Berbere group day | Surf Berbere: £25 (300 dirhams) a person for a day of group lessons with transfers and lunch (3-night minimum stay) |
Sources: the owners named in the table, read October 2026. The garden page lists DH 95 for international students only; we use the ticket page you buy from. Surf Berbere states no minimum age. The Kasbah's stay price list halves meals and trekking for ages 5 to 15.
Book Majorelle before you fly; pack passports. Do Crocoparc in the afternoon, after a kids club morning.
A 10-year-old's best day is the Kasbah: pick-up at 9 a.m., lunch included, back by 5:30 p.m. Its day-trip price list shows no child rate, so budget €90 a head if all four go. If a parent takes only the 10-year-old, the Kasbah charges €125 each. We'd take that long day only with older children.
Who should skip Morocco, or one of the two cities
Skip a Morocco February half term if your budget for four is under about £2,600, our cheapest priced week with bags (as of October 2026, sources: British Airways, RIU). Skip one city if a line in this list fits your family.
- Skip Club Med Marrakech for under-4s unless you'll pay extra. Mini Club Med+ starts at 4, and Petit Club Med for ages 2 and 3 costs from £361.
- Skip Surf Maroc for a 6-year-old: it teaches children from 8, in private lessons.
- Skip Marrakech in February if the water park is the treat: Oasiria's 2027 dates are not out. Its prices page dated the 2026 season from 4 April; its services page says the last Friday of March.
Sources: Club Med, Surf Maroc and Oasiria, read October 2026.
Planning the days and what to pack
Plan one outing a day and leave the rest to the pool: Crocoparc or a surf lesson in Agadir, Majorelle or the Atlas day in Marrakech. Ramadan should fall in the half-term week, and Crocoparc closes at 5 p.m. during it, so arrive by 2 p.m. If your youngest still naps, do the pool in the morning and the outing after lunch.
Pack fleeces for February evenings, because nights average 7.6°C in Marrakech and 10.2°C in Agadir. If your children run cold, add a hat for the Atlas day too.
Night lows: World Meteorological Organization normals, read October 2026.
Our take
For February half term with a child under 10, book Agadir all inclusive: up to £2,479 for four with flights (as of October 2026, sources: RIU, British Airways). The week is Riu Tikida Dunas and a British Airways flight from Gatwick, a resort package in US terms. With hold bags, it comes to about £2,600.
The runner-up is Marrakech once your youngest is 10, or at Easter and October half term. For 13 to 20 February 2027, Mövenpick's breakfast rate made it up to £2,983. If four hours is too far, our February half term abroad guide compares shorter flights. Run your dates in the Budget Calculator.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Morocco a good family destination?
Yes, for UK families: UK passports need no visa for up to 90 days (as of October 2026, source: FCDO). Agadir's all-inclusive beach hotels suit under-10s, and Marrakech suits 10-year-olds and up.
How old is the Moroccan country?
Morocco's first dynasty, the Idrisids, dates to 789, so the kingdom is more than 1,200 years old (as of October 2026, source: Moroccan National Tourist Office).
Is Morocco affected by the war?
No part of Morocco is on the UK government's advise-against list: the FCDO's Morocco advice was updated 19 August 2026 (as of October 2026, source: FCDO). The US State Department rates Morocco Level 2 (Exercise Increased Caution) for terrorism and says some areas have increased risk.
What are some good travel ideas for Morocco?
For a family week, pick one base: Agadir for the beach, kids clubs and Crocoparc, or Marrakech for Jardin Majorelle and an Atlas day. With children under 10 in February, we'd pick Agadir.
Is Agadir, Morocco right for a family beach week?
Yes for under-10s: Agadir has all-inclusive beach hotels and 22.0°C February days (as of October 2026, source: World Meteorological Organization). Crocoparc, 70 dirhams a child, is the day out.
Data Sources and Verification
Every figure was read on its owner's own page in October 2026.
- Flights: British Airways · Ryanair · Delta · Emirates · Royal Air Maroc · Manchester Airport
- Stays: Mövenpick · Mövenpick rate · Sofitel Marrakech · Club Med · RIU · Sofitel Agadir · ROBINSON
- Days out: Majorelle · Oasiria prices · Oasiria services · Kasbah du Toubkal · Supratours · Crocoparc · Surf Maroc · Surf Berbere
- Entry, health, money: Accès Maroc · FCDO · TravelHealthPro · State Department · Bank Al-Maghrib · Visit Morocco
- Weather: WMO Marrakech · WMO Agadir
- School calendars: Lambeth · Lambeth 2027 to 2028 · Ireland · NYC · TDSB · NSW · NZ · Singapore · UAE
How we checked these figures
- Fares and rates: owners' searches, 13 to 20 February 2027; BA and hotels for the family, other airlines per adult.
Fares and rules change; confirm before you book.