Christmas in Lagos With Kids: Which Day to Fly Out
Six steps for a December trip home, costed in dollars and naira.

Quick answer: Christmas in Lagos with kids
- Fly United from Houston out December 21 and back January 4: $15,244 in seats for a family of four, the cheapest of the four Christmas pairs we priced (as of October 2026, source: United Airlines).
- File an e-Visa for everyone before you fly: visa on arrival ended May 1, 2025, and each child needs a birth certificate and consent letter (Nigeria Immigration Service, October 2026).
- Two weeks come to about $18,300 for four, or about $20,700 with a second room from $170, before food, rides, shots and insurance (United Airlines and Lagos Continental, October 2026).
- Early December is cheaper but is Houston ISD term time: four seats were $6,644 for December 5 to 19, and you're back in Houston before Christmas Day.
- Want a resort package (all inclusive) instead? See our all-inclusive family Christmas packages guide.
- Below: a daytime Detty December plan for kids, the $4,024 four seats save by flying December 21, the e-Visa document list (180-day bank statement) and the Budget Calculator.
Step 1: Pick your dates: out December 21, back January 4
Booking week · about an hour
From Houston, book United out December 21 and back January 4: $3,811 a seat on October 20, the cheapest Christmas pair we checked (as of October 2026, source: United Airlines). The December 19 to January 2 pair costs $1,006 more a seat, or $4,024 for four.
This table gives United's October 20 fare for each 14-night pair.
| Out | Back | United, per seat | Four seats |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dec 5 | Dec 19 | $1,661 | $6,644 |
| Dec 18 | Jan 1 | $4,243 | $16,972 |
| Dec 19 | Jan 2 | $4,817 | $19,268 |
| Dec 20 | Jan 3 | $4,453 | $17,812 |
| Dec 21 | Jan 4 | $3,811 | $15,244 |
Source: United booking search for one adult, lowest economy round trip with taxes, read October 20, 2026; four seats cost four times that (child fares not quoted).
Which dates fit your school calendar
Houston ISD breaks Friday, December 18 and restarts January 5, so fly Monday, December 21 and return January 4; this table maps each calendar to its Lagos window.
| Calendar | Christmas break | Lagos window |
|---|---|---|
| US (Houston ISD) | Dec 21 to 31 | Dec 21 to Jan 4 |
| UK (Lambeth Council, London) | Dec 21 to Jan 1; half term Feb 15 to 19 | Christmas or February half term |
| Ireland (Department of Education) | Dec 23 to Jan 5 | The whole break |
| Canada (Toronto District School Board) | Dec 21 to Jan 1 | Dec 19 to Jan 3 |
| Australia (NSW Department of Education), New Zealand (Ministry of Education) | NSW Dec 18 to Jan 27; NZ by Dec 19 (each school sets its date) | January |
| Singapore (Ministry of Education) | Nov 21 to Dec 31 | Early December |
| Gulf (UAE Ministry of Education) | Dec 14 to Jan 1 | Dec 14 to 28 |
Sources: the publisher named in each row, read October 2026.
If Christmas Day isn't the point, price a UK half term or US spring break trip instead.
Step 2: Getting there and getting in: file every e-Visa the week you book
Right after booking · 30 minutes each
File an e-Visa for everyone in the week you book: visa on arrival ended May 1, 2025 (as of October 2026, source: Nigeria Immigration Service).
Departures by hub
This table gives each hub's fare and outbound journey time for December 21 to January 4.
| Hub | Airline, routing | Journey time (outbound) | Round trip per adult |
|---|---|---|---|
| Houston (IAH) | United via Miami and Frankfurt (part operated by Lufthansa) | 22h 50m | From $3,811 |
| New York (Newark) | United via Frankfurt | 17h 50m | From $3,404 |
Sources: United's booking search, one adult, read October 20, 2026, and Delta's baggage page, October 2026. We found no fare for these dates from London (Virgin Atlantic, 7h) or Toronto (Royal Air Maroc). We found none from Dubai (Emirates, 8h 35m) or Atlanta (Delta nonstop, 11h 15m).
If you fly Delta, it checks strollers (pushchairs) and car seats free, so check them rather than take them as carry-on (hand luggage).
Entry by passport
If a parent is Nigerian by birth on a foreign passport, apply for F9A for that parent and F9B for the children. For a child born abroad, pick one passport: "interchangeable use of passports is not allowed". Otherwise, if you stay with relatives, use the Visiting Visa F6A, granted "for social visits to family and friends". A family vacation (a holiday, in UK terms) in a hotel uses the Tourism Visa F5A.
Each visa is valid 90 days from issue, so apply no more than 90 days before you land. One family application covers up to 10 people, and the application needs:
- A passport valid 6 months or more, plus a photo.
- A return ticket, and a hotel booking or host address.
- A bank statement for the last 180 days.
- For each child under 18, a birth certificate and parental consent letter.
- For F6A, your host's letter "accepting immigration responsibility (IR)" and a copy of their Nigerian passport or residency permit.
Before you fly, fill in a free online landing card for each traveler, and a departure card before you leave. The FCDO says officers may ask for them at the airport.
This table settles what each passport needs, pays and may stay.
| Passport | Visa needed | e-Visa fee each | Stay |
|---|---|---|---|
| US | Yes, e-Visa | $160 | 30 days |
| UK | Yes, e-Visa | $193 (budget this; a second NIS table prints $144) | 30 days |
| Canadian | Yes, e-Visa | $75 | 30 days |
| Irish | Yes, e-Visa | $170 | 30 days |
| Nigerian dual national or child born abroad | F9A (adult) or F9B (child); none on a Nigerian passport | By nationality (US passport $160) | 30 days per entry |
| GCC resident | Yes, e-Visa, by nationality | UAE passport $150 | 30 days |
Sources: Nigeria Immigration Service fee table (Appendix I) and its visa pages, read October 2026.
Nigeria requires a yellow fever certificate from everyone except babies 8 months or younger and adults 61 or older, the UK Foreign Office (FCDO) says. CDC says it isn't required for travelers arriving from the US, unless they connect through a country with yellow fever risk. We'd book shots that week for everyone from 9 months and pack the malaria tablets CDC advises.
Visa rules read on the Nigeria Immigration Service site; health rules on FCDO and CDC, October 2026.
Step 3: Stay with family, or pick a Victoria Island family room
6 weeks out · an evening
Stay with relatives if they have room (F6A visa). Otherwise, the Lagos Continental's Superior Twin Family Room on Victoria Island lists "Rates from $ 170", which we read as per night, about ₦226,000. Its page lists two twin beds but no occupancy or tax, so ask about both.
In Ikoyi, The George is from $410 a night for one guest with breakfast, taxes included, but its Classic rooms take no extra beds. If your 10-year-old won't share a twin bed, book two family rooms.
Rates read on the Lagos Continental and The George sites, October 2026.
Compare two tabs: Victoria Island family hotels on Expedia and the Lagos Continental's own site, then book the cheaper one. Staying near family in Lekki? Start with Lekki hotels on Expedia.
Step 4: Book the days out, and budget a 10-year-old as an adult
4 weeks out · 20 minutes
Budget ₦56,975 for an Omu Resort day for two adults and children of 6 and 10 (as of October 2026, source: Omu Resort). The Gold ticket is ₦15,050 from age 10, ₦11,825 for younger children and free under age 2. That's about $43 for four. Omu opens Monday to Saturday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Sunday noon to 6 p.m., and it's cashless.
Lekki Conservation Centre has what the Nigerian Conservation Foundation calls Africa's longest canopy walkway. Call +234 906 546 0479 before you go, as the foundation publishes no fee or hours. Skip Landmark Beach, which "is no longer operational". Phone Nike Art Gallery on +234 803 409 6656 first, since its site lists no hours.
Read on Omu Resort, Nigerian Conservation Foundation, Landmark Africa and Nike Centre pages, October 2026.

Step 5: What events are happening in Lagos this December? Detty December by day, not by night
3 weeks out · 15 minutes
Detty December, Lagos's party season, typically runs December 6 to 31 with concerts, festivals and beach parties (as of October 2026, source: CNN). For children of 6 and 10, the daytime plan is two outings. Eko Hotels' Hakuna Matata inflatable park at Eko Atlantic is "suitable for all ages", and the Omu Resort day sits in Step 4.
Hakuna Matata is closed Mondays and Tuesdays. If you land on a Monday, do Omu first and keep Wednesday for Hakuna Matata. Leave the concerts and beach parties to the grown-ups.
Source: Eko Hotels and Suites, read October 2026.
Step 6: Sort money, rides and safety before you fly
1 week out · an hour
With kids of 6 and 10, carry a card and some cash, pack both car seats, and book the airport pickup with family or the hotel. The FCDO warns of crime near ATMs and card fraud. CDC calls motor vehicle crashes "the #1 killer of healthy US citizens in foreign countries", and Uber's Lagos drivers may have no car seats.
The US State Department rates Nigeria "Level 3: Reconsider Travel" and says kidnappers "primarily target dual national citizens visiting Nigeria". Its do-not-travel list names Abia, Anambra, Bayelsa, Delta, Enugu, Imo and Rivers (except Port Harcourt), plus 15 more states and northern Adamawa. If anyone in your family holds both passports, arrange every ride in advance.
Lagos State is on neither government's do-not-travel list. For UK passports, this table gives the FCDO's warnings in its own regional groups.
| FCDO advises against | Areas, by FCDO region |
|---|---|
| All travel | North East: Borno, Yobe, Adamawa, Gombe. North West: Katsina, Zamfara, Sokoto. South East and South South: the riverine areas in Delta, Bayelsa, Rivers, Akwa Ibom and Cross River |
| All but essential travel | North East: Bauchi. North West: Kaduna, Kano, Kebbi, Jigawa. North Central: Niger, Kogi, Plateau, Taraba, Kwara, Benue. South East and South South: Abia, Anambra, Imo, and non-riverine Delta, Bayelsa and Rivers |
Sources: FCDO, CDC, Uber and US State Department, read October 2026. Travel against FCDO advice can invalidate your travel insurance.
If relatives expect you outside Lagos, check both lists first. Buy insurance with medical evacuation, as the State Department advises, since most hospitals don't accept US health insurance (see our family travel insurance and emergency prep guide).

What two Christmas weeks cost, by flight date
At United's October 20 fares, flights are 83% of the about $18,300 four pay from Houston for the December 21 window, before food, rides, shots and insurance. If the family room won't take four, two rooms make it about $20,700. December 19 to January 2 costs about $22,300, also before food and extras. The table splits each total into its four lines.
| Family of four, 14 nights | Dec 21 to Jan 4, USD | Dec 21 to Jan 4, NGN | Dec 19 to Jan 2, USD | Dec 5 to 19, USD |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| United flights, four seats 4 x one-adult fare, October 20 read | $15,244.00 | ₦20,301,322 | $19,268.00 | $6,644.00 |
| e-Visas, four US passports 4 x $160 | $640.00 | ₦852,325 | $640.00 | $640.00 |
| Family room, 14 nights 14 x from $170; two twin beds; tax not stated | $2,380.00 | ₦3,169,585 | $2,380.00 | $2,380.00 |
| Omu Resort day, Gold 3 x ₦15,050 (age 10 and up) + ₦11,825 | $42.78 | ₦56,975 | $42.78 | $42.78 |
| Total (one family room at its from rate, occupancy not stated) before food, rides, shots and insurance | $18,306.78 | ₦24,380,207 | $22,330.78 | $9,706.78 |
Sources: United Airlines, Nigeria Immigration Service, Lagos Continental Hotel, Omu Resort, read October 2026; naira at ₦1,331.76 per dollar.
The December 21 total is about £13,800 or ₦24.4 million (as of October 2026, source: Central Bank of Nigeria).
Put the planning time into the flights, not the hotel. If your 10-year-old needs a bed of their own, add $2,380 for the second room.
The mistakes that cost families money
Three things cost families money here: the e-Visa, the flight dates and the Omu age band.
- Counting on a visa at the airport: Nigeria ended visa on arrival on May 1, 2025.
- Flying December 19 to January 2, not December 21 to January 4: $4,024 more for four from Houston at October 20 fares.
- Budgeting a 10-year-old as a child at Omu, where the ₦15,050 adult price starts at 10.
Sources: Nigeria Immigration Service, United Airlines and Omu Resort, read October 2026.
Your Christmas in Lagos checklist
The checklist runs from booking week to the week you fly.
- Booking week: flights out December 21, back January 4.
- Same week, if you land within 90 days: e-Visas, yellow fever shots, malaria tablets.
- Six weeks out: a bed with family, or a room confirmed for four.
- Three to four weeks out: Omu and Hakuna Matata tickets; call Lekki and Nike.
- One week out: car seats, airport pickup, insurance, landing cards.
Our take
For a Houston family, the cheapest Christmas pair we checked on October 20 was United out December 21 and back January 4 (as of October 2026, source: United Airlines). Book them this week; file every e-Visa that day.
If Christmas in Houston works and your children can miss two school weeks, December 5 to 19 costs about $9,700 for four before food, rides, shots and insurance. Run your dates through the Budget Calculator, or compare our all-inclusive family Christmas packages.
Book the two-stop via Miami and Frankfurt, not the one-stop via Dulles with its 17-hour layover.
Frequently Asked Questions
How do they celebrate Christmas in Nigeria?
For many Nigerians, Christmas is a time to reconnect with family, with carol services and shared meals such as jollof rice (as of October 2026, source: Prime Business Africa). Leadership reported that on Christmas Eve 2025, Lagos motor parks were crowded with travelers “returning home for Christmas”.
What events are happening in Lagos this December?
Detty December, Lagos's party season, typically runs December 6 to 31 with concerts, festivals and beach parties (as of October 2026, source: CNN).
Is Detty December in Lagos for families with kids?
Detty December suits families only by day: its festivals, concerts, pop-up markets, beach parties and weddings typically run December 6 to 31 (as of October 2026, source: CNN). Take the kids to the daytime events on this page: an Omu Resort day, the Hakuna Matata park at Eko Atlantic and family visits. Leave the concerts and beach parties to the grown-ups.
Do US citizens need a visa for Nigeria?
Yes: US passport holders apply for an e-Visa before flying, at $160 for a single entry (as of October 2026, source: Nigeria Immigration Service). Visa on arrival ended May 1, 2025.
Can you get a visa on arrival in Nigeria?
No: visa on arrival ended May 1, 2025, so US, UK, Canadian and Irish families file an e-Visa before flying (as of October 2026, source: Nigeria Immigration Service).
Data Sources and Verification
Read on each owner's own page in October 2026; totals are for two adults and two children on US passports.
- Airlines: United · Delta · Virgin Atlantic · Emirates · Delta baggage
- Nigeria Immigration Service: e-Visa · F5A · F6A · F9A · F9B · fees · landing card
- Health and safety: CDC · FCDO · State Department · Uber
- Central Bank of Nigeria: rates
- Hotels: Lagos Continental · The George · rate terms
- Days out: Omu Resort · NCF · Landmark · Nike · Eko Hotels
- Christmas in Nigeria: Prime Business Africa · Leadership · CNN
- School calendars: Houston ISD · Lambeth · Ireland · TDSB · NSW · NZ · Singapore · UAE
How we checked these figures
- Naira and pounds: CBN central rates, October 16, 2026.