Nickelodeon Riviera Maya vs Punta Cana for Families 2026
Two of the three Nickelodeon resorts open in 2026: same brand, same Aqua Nick, two very different family trips.

Photo: Leonardo Rossatti / Pexels
Quick Answer
- Three Nickelodeon resorts are open in 2026: Riviera Maya in Puerto Morelos, Mexico, Punta Cana in Uvero Alto, Dominican Republic, and Antalya in Turkiye. Riviera Maya opened in 2021 and Punta Cana in 2016. Antalya opened in 2025 with 238 suites. This page compares the two Caribbean ones (as of September 2026, source: Nickelodeon Hotels & Resorts).
- A fourth resort is planned near Orlando, in Kissimmee, Florida. It is not on the brand's list of open resorts, and its developer is still selling condos in it (as of September 2026, sources: Nickelodeon Hotels & Resorts, Everest Place).
- Punta Cana starts at less than half the Riviera Maya rate. Karisma's own offers start at $159 per person per night in Punta Cana against $347 in Riviera Maya (as of September 2026, source: Karisma Hotels). Both offers run to November 1, 2026.
- Riviera Maya wins on water-park size (6 acres, more themed) and day-trip range (cenotes, Tulum, Xcaret within 30-90 minutes). Punta Cana wins on beach quality, lower sargassum risk, and value.
- One age rule, not two: Riviera Maya suits kids 4 to 9, and the value runs out once the youngest turns 10. Aqua Nick charges child prices for ages 3 to 9, and adult prices from 10. That is the operator's own price band (as of September 2026, source: Aqua Nick Riviera Maya). Pick Punta Cana on budget or beach, not on your kids' ages.
- Both have Aqua Nick water park included, daily Slime Time, Pajama Jam character breakfast (extra), and suites that sleep up to 5 with swim-up pool access in most categories.
- Punta Cana has the iconic SpongeBob Pineapple Super Villa. Riviera Maya's rooftop Signature Suites are the Pineapple Suite, the Lair Suite and the Big Kahuna Suite (as of September 2026, source: Karisma Hotels).
- Use our family budget calculator to compare the real-cost gap for your specific dates and family size.
The head-to-head comparison
| Factor | Nick Riviera Maya | Nick Punta Cana |
|---|---|---|
| Opened | 2021 (newer build) | 2016 (original Nick resort) |
| Suites | 280, max 5 per suite | 460, max 5 per suite (4 Super Villas sleep more) |
| Starting rate on Karisma's own offer | From $347 per person per night. KAYAK's monthly averages run $800 in January to $1,079 in July, for a party size KAYAK does not state. | From $159 per person per night. |
| Week for two adults and two kids | A promotional $7,114 for January 9 to 16, 2027, all-inclusive with taxes and the airport transfer in. A July week is $7,600. Without the promotion the same suite lists at $16,268 and $23,632. | Not quoted here for the same week. Karisma's Punta Cana offers start at $159 per person per night. |
| Aqua Nick water park | 6 acres, larger, more themed | Smaller but recently expanded with 2 new pools and slide tower |
| Signature suite | Pineapple Suite, Lair Suite, Big Kahuna Suite (rooftop) | SpongeBob Pineapple Super Villa (4 themed Super Villas total) |
| Beach quality | Longer, more variation; sargassum-prone May-Aug | Uvero Alto: wider, softer, low sargassum risk |
| Off-resort day trips | Cenotes 15-45 min, Tulum ruins 69 min, Parque Xcaret about 30 min, Chichen Itza 2.5 hrs | Saona Island day trip, Hoyo Azul cenote, Higuey 30-60 min |
| Airport | CUN (Cancun), about 30 min. The resort is south of the airport. | PUJ (Punta Cana), 60 min north transfer |
| Direct US flight markets | 8 (CUN) | 8 (PUJ) |
Sources, all read September 27, 2026. Starting rates and the Riviera Maya week quote from Karisma Hotels and its Punta Cana page. The $7,114 January week and the $7,600 July week are promotional prices on Karisma's Endless Escapes offer. That offer has to be booked by November 12, 2026. Riviera Maya monthly averages from KAYAK. Open resorts, opening dates and water-park details from Nickelodeon Hotels & Resorts; the Orlando project from Everest Place. Drive times from OpenStreetMap routing, free-flow, from Karisma's published coordinates. Age bands from Aqua Nick Riviera Maya. Sargassum from the University of South Florida Optical Oceanography Lab. Flight markets from Google Flights.
Photo: Denys Gromov / Pexels
Choose Nickelodeon Riviera Maya if…
- Your kids are 4 to 9 and you want the bigger 6-acre Aqua Nick water park with more elaborate themed slides and shows. Aqua Nick's own price bands stop counting a child at 10 (as of September 2026, source: Aqua Nick Riviera Maya).
- You want cultural day trips. The Riviera Maya base puts cenotes 15-45 minutes away and the Tulum ruins 69 minutes south. Parque Xcaret is about 30 minutes down the coast (as of September 2026, source: OpenStreetMap).
- You want the more contemporary themed design. The 2021 build feels newer and more polished than the 2016 Punta Cana property.
- You can absorb the price premium for the newer build and bigger water park. Karisma's starting rate is $188 per person per night higher here than in Punta Cana (as of September 2026, source: Karisma Hotels).
- You're traveling in November through April when sargassum risk is at its lowest on the Mexican Caribbean coast.
Skip Riviera Maya if: your youngest has turned 10, or your budget is the binding factor, or sargassum would ruin the trip for you. The University of South Florida reported that sargassum amounts fell in every region in August 2026, but most regions still sat above the 75th percentile of past years (as of September 2026, source: University of South Florida Optical Oceanography Lab).
Compare Xcaret tour options on Viator: Chichen Itza is the other headline day trip from this base, 2.5 hours away per the comparison table above.
Choose Nickelodeon Punta Cana if…
- The beach is the main attraction. Uvero Alto's wider, softer sand and lower sargassum risk make it the better family beach.
- You want the SpongeBob experience. The Pineapple Super Villa, modeled after SpongeBob's own home, is the headline themed suite, and the Punta Cana property feels more tied to that brand identity.
- You're price-sensitive. Karisma's own starting rate is $159 per person per night in Punta Cana against $347 in Riviera Maya (as of September 2026, source: Karisma Hotels). That gap compounds over a week.
- You're traveling June-August and Caribbean beach quality matters. The DR sits outside the main sargassum belt.
- You want a less spread-out property. Punta Cana is more compact than Riviera Maya, easier for younger kids to navigate.
Skip Punta Cana if: you specifically want cenote or Mayan-ruin day trips on the itinerary, or the bigger, more elaborate water park is the thing your family came for.
Compare Nickelodeon Punta Cana rates on Expedia: the character-meal add-ons price differently at each property, so check what your quote actually includes.
Photo: Alexandre Canteiro / Pexels
When it depends
The Three-Question Decision Test (kids' ages, real time budget including travel days, break point if things go wrong) clears most of these picks. The close cases:
- Mixed ages (one 5-year-old and one 11-year-old) on a 7-night stay: the older one is already past Aqua Nick's child price band, so the Riviera Maya premium is doing less work. The bigger water park still helps the younger one.
- Multigen trip with grandparents who can't do long transfers: Riviera Maya now wins this one. The drive from Cancun airport is about 30 minutes, heading south, and Karisma includes the round-trip transfer on its direct offers (as of September 2026, sources: OpenStreetMap, Karisma Hotels).
- Summer trip where beach quality is the deal-breaker: Punta Cana, every time. The Dominican Republic stays largely sargassum-clear, and the Mexican Caribbean coast is the side that gets the seaweed (as of September 2026, source: University of South Florida Optical Oceanography Lab).
- Budget around $7,000 for the week and kids 4 to 9: Riviera Maya is in reach. Karisma quotes a promotional $7,114 for a January week. Below that budget, Punta Cana is the better math at any age.
Honest tradeoffs
Each property gives something up:
- Riviera Maya gives up beach quality (longer but more sargassum-prone) and value (its starting rate is more than twice Punta Cana's).
- Punta Cana gives up water-park scale, themed elevation, and day-trip range (no cenotes or Mayan ruins within a half-day drive).
What real families report
A common pattern across r/AllInclusiveResorts and TripAdvisor reviews in 2026: families who visited both prefer Riviera Maya for the water park and themed extras, and Punta Cana for the beach and the price. Multiple reviewers note that the 2016 Punta Cana property has aged well thanks to the recent Aqua Nick expansion, but the room theming feels less ambitious than the 2021 Riviera Maya build. The beach quality gap goes the other direction. Punta Cana reviewers consistently report wider sand and clearer water during summer months when Riviera Maya is fighting seaweed.
Our take
For US families heading to a Nickelodeon resort in 2026, the right pick comes down to your kids' ages and your budget. Pick Riviera Maya if your kids are 4 to 9, you want the bigger Aqua Nick and the cenote day trips, and the price works. Karisma quotes a promotional $7,114 for a January week there, for two adults and two kids in one suite, with taxes and the airport transfer in. Pick Punta Cana if the beach matters most, or the budget is the binding factor: Karisma's starting rate there is $159 per person per night against $347 in Riviera Maya. Once your youngest turns 10 the Riviera Maya premium stops paying for itself, because Aqua Nick charges that child an adult price. Both deliver the core Nick experience (characters, Slime Time, included water park, family suites that sleep 5), just calibrated differently. Run the budget calculator with both legs pre-filled to see what your specific dates and family size cost on each side before booking.
Browse Riviera Maya family excursions on Viator: the resort tour desks resell the same cenote and Xcaret trips at a markup, so compare before you land.
Frequently asked questions
It depends on your kids' ages and your budget. Nickelodeon Riviera Maya suits kids 4 to 9 who want the bigger 6-acre Aqua Nick water park, more themed design, and cenote or Mayan-ruin day trips. The value runs out once the youngest turns 10. Aqua Nick charges child prices for ages 3 to 9, and adult prices from 10. That is the operator's own price band (as of September 2026, source: Aqua Nick Riviera Maya). Nickelodeon Punta Cana wins on budget and on beach, not on age. Karisma's own offers start at $159 per person per night there against $347 in Riviera Maya (as of September 2026, source: Karisma Hotels). Punta Cana's Uvero Alto beach is also wider, softer and less sargassum-prone than the Riviera Maya coast.
Nickelodeon Hotels and Resorts Riviera Maya is the newer property. It opened in 2021. Nickelodeon Hotels and Resorts Punta Cana opened in 2016 as the original Nick resort. The Riviera Maya build feels more contemporary with more thoughtful themed design and the larger 6-acre Aqua Nick water park, while Punta Cana has been recently refreshed with an expanded Aqua Nick that added two new pools and a new slide tower.
Nickelodeon Punta Cana is the cheaper of the two. Karisma's own offers start at $159 per person per night in Punta Cana against $347 in Riviera Maya (as of September 2026, source: Karisma Hotels). Both offers run to November 1, 2026. For Riviera Maya, Karisma's booking engine quotes a promotional $7,114 for a week in January 2027. That week is January 9 to 16. The party is two adults and two children, aged 7 and 9, in one Swim-Up Oceanfront Queen Suite. The price is all-inclusive, includes taxes and includes the round-trip airport transfer. A July week is quoted at a promotional $7,600. Both are sale prices under Karisma's Endless Escapes promotion, which its terms limit to bookings made by November 12, 2026. Without the promotion the same suite lists at $16,268 for the January week. For the July week it lists at $23,632. KAYAK's monthly averages for Riviera Maya run $800 a night in January to $1,079 in July, for a party size KAYAK does not state (as of September 2026, source: KAYAK). No comparable engine quote was read for Punta Cana on the same week. East Coast flight totals are roughly equal ($1,200-1,800 per family of 4 to either PUJ or CUN, from our own fare tracking), so the lodging gap is the dominant cost difference.
Punta Cana's Uvero Alto beach tends to outperform Riviera Maya for family use. The sand is wider and softer, the shore entry is gradual, and the Dominican Republic sits outside the main sargassum-seaweed belt that hits Mexico's Caribbean coast May through August. The University of South Florida reported that in August 2026 sargassum amounts kept falling in every region, though most regions still sat above the 75th percentile of past years. Punta Cana stays largely clear (as of September 2026, source: University of South Florida Optical Oceanography Lab).
Yes, Nickelodeon Punta Cana is a solid family pick, especially for families who want a beach-first trip at a lower price than Riviera Maya. The property has 460 suites including the SpongeBob-themed Pineapple Super Villa, a recently expanded Aqua Nick water park, nine restaurants, character meet-and-greets, and the better-quality Uvero Alto beach (as of September 2026, source: Karisma Hotels). The trade-off against Riviera Maya is a smaller water park footprint and less elaborate themed design. It is the budget and the beach that make the case, not your kids' ages.
How this was researched
Every figure on this page was re-read from the fact owner on September 27, 2026. Starting rates come from the offer blocks on Karisma's own Riviera Maya and Punta Cana pages, quoted per person per night as Karisma prints them. The Riviera Maya week was priced on Karisma's own booking engine for two adults and children aged 7 and 9, seven nights, in one Swim-Up Oceanfront Queen Suite. The engine applied Karisma's Endless Escapes promotion, whose terms limit it to bookings made by November 12, 2026, so the page prints the non-promotional totals beside it. No comparable engine quote was read for Punta Cana on the same week, so no Punta Cana week total is printed. Monthly averages come from KAYAK, which does not state the party size behind them. Which resorts are open, opening dates, suite counts and water-park details come from Nickelodeon Hotels & Resorts and Karisma's property pages; the Orlando project from its developer, Everest Place. Drive times are free-flow OpenStreetMap routes from Karisma's published coordinates, so real traffic runs longer. Age bands come from Aqua Nick Riviera Maya, which charges child prices for ages 3 to 9 and adult prices from 10. Sargassum comes from the University of South Florida Optical Oceanography Lab bulletin. East-Coast flight totals are from our own fare tracking (Punta Cana confirmed April 2026, Riviera Maya confirmed May 2026).